I could never be a housewife

I need a job.  Right out of college, as soon as I get out, I need a job.

I have been home the past couple days while my boyfriend Daniel is at work from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. and I have been bored almost every minute of the day.  After I do little things around the apartment like wash the dishes, straighten the bed, take out the trash and cleaning up, there’s nothing left to do.  I sometimes sit on our couch and stare at the television that isn’t even turned on because we don’t have cable.  I don’t care about not having cable.  While at Marist, I don’t even have a television so I occupy myself with studies.  But here, there’s not much that I can occupy myself with.

I don’t have to go into work so that’s not an option.  I brought books that I have already read so I get bored quickly with them.  All I do is sit and wait till Daniel gets home so that I have someone to talk to and distract myself with.  Honestly, I have no idea how housewives stay home all day.  Although there is the word “house” in housewife so maybe living in a house gives you a bigger space to clean and gives you more to do?  Most of them do have kids to look after and the hell if I’m having kids anytime soon.

I bought a stack of local magazines that I’m interested in working for after I come back in May and I just hope that someone will cut me a break.  I know I have the skill to write what they want me to write and at the same time, give story ideas to expand the magazine’s structure.  I know I have what it takes to be a writer and a journalist…all I need is a chance.

Graduation is only 4 months away.  Those 4 months will go by incredibly fast considering the fact that I’ll be visiting my parents in Japan in mid-March.  So that’s a month in a half in New York, then Japan for a little more than a week, then New York for another month and a half and I graduate.

…Fuck.

Is it this scary for everyone?  Or just for those who don’t have a plan?  I do have a plan but it can fall apart easily if I don’t take the right steps.  I just need for someone to give me a chance.

But I’ll tell you one thing, to whoever is reading this…I will not be a housewife.

    • Chelsea
    • January 13th, 2011

    I don’t understand how the Leave It To Beaver mom, June Cleaver and others could be housewives with such a big smile on their faces! Oh yeah, it’s TV! You’ll figure out your direction soon dear and someone WILL give you a chance 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

